Raspy tone clip

Recording systems, Software, Microphones, plugins, computers that work, the best ways to capture the sound. A good place to start figuring out that sound is here.

Raspy tone clip

Postby studiojb on Sun Nov 28, 2010 8:30 am

I typically record either a 71' Traynor, Marshall, or an AC30, and I always get this nasty rattle to some degree in about the 2.2khz range.

Right in the bite! I usually play pretty chords fairly distorted on Mustangs.

I've taken off various springs, taken the head off the cabs, looked for loose stuff on my guitars, changed mic position... I've even simulated tube dampeners by holding the preamp tubes with a gloved hand - no difference.

Anyone else have experience with this? Here is a sound clip.

http://tripletreat.net/fizz/Rattle.mp3

1) dry from amp
2) eq low end roll off
3) overdriven

Thanks in advance.
studiojb
Page
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 7:01 am
Location: NorCal

Re: Raspy tone clip

Postby oh7hhi on Wed Dec 22, 2010 1:07 pm

I've had that problem many times!

Try to find a better place for the mic and make sure you don't overload mic preamp etc. When you record digitally (at least 16-bit) you don't have to hit "near zero" at software or AD-converter.

Hope this helps!
oh7hhi
Peasant
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 12:08 pm

Re: Raspy tone clip

Postby tone-lizard on Tue Jan 04, 2011 7:03 pm

If you've modded or recapped the amp, a coupling capacitor may be 'too big' and causing blocking distortion. I've had that, and it only shows up at full volumes for certain notes you play. Since this rattle is heard 'live' and not playback, I doubt it's a software setting or clipping. Maybe you're biased cold, maybe you have a microphonic tube, maybe you have blocking distortion. No wait. This is on all three amps? :shock: Weird. All three can't be bad. Maybe something is rattling in the room? Maybe the guitar? Strange, indeed.
"Never mix alcohol and calculus. It isn't a good idea to drink and derive."
tone-lizard
Page
 
Posts: 330
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2001 8:01 am
Location: Canada

Re: Raspy tone clip

Postby demonufo on Tue Jan 04, 2011 8:01 pm

Umm, tried a different mic?
Git orffff moi lannnddddd!!

http://www.myspace.com/molotovsexbomb
demonufo
Baron
 
Posts: 2051
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 12:50 pm
Location: Carterton,Oxon,U.K

Re: Raspy tone clip

Postby plexi on Thu Jan 27, 2011 8:48 am

Loose electrodes in the pre amp tubes. Seen it for ever.
Image
plexi
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1228
Joined: Sat May 12, 2001 7:01 am
Location: Apple Valley, CA

Re: Raspy tone clip

Postby studiojb on Thu Feb 17, 2011 9:56 pm

plexi wrote:Loose electrodes in the pre amp tubes. Seen it for ever.


Would it just be in the v1 or could it be emanating from one of the other pre amp tubes?
studiojb
Page
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 7:01 am
Location: NorCal

Re: Raspy tone clip

Postby plexi on Tue Mar 01, 2011 1:00 pm

Swap one tube at a time. Starting V1 or the highest gain preamp.
Image
plexi
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1228
Joined: Sat May 12, 2001 7:01 am
Location: Apple Valley, CA

Re: Raspy tone clip

Postby studiojb on Wed Mar 02, 2011 4:41 am

I think you nailed it. When I removed v2 it rattled when I shook it. When I replaced it I think it went away. I'm still in shock - that problems been plaguing my recordings for years.

In general, if a tube rattles when you shake it (even if it's supposed to be new) should it be tossed? Seems like if a rattle in V2 can make that much trouble, all tubes that rattle should go.
studiojb
Page
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 7:01 am
Location: NorCal

Re: Raspy tone clip

Postby plexi on Tue Apr 05, 2011 8:11 pm

They will all rattle a bit but if you hear it as in your case, it's over the line and should be swapped around or replaced. Some stages are more sensitive then others so that is why V 2 sometimes is not as problematic, less sensitive but in your case, that tube was crap. Sadly, even new is not a reason to keep them. That is one of our screening processes.

It's also why Mullard XF1s are more valuable, the later ones seemed to loosen up and the electrodes would rattle in the tube. Were talking EL34s!
Image
plexi
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1228
Joined: Sat May 12, 2001 7:01 am
Location: Apple Valley, CA

Re: Raspy tone clip

Postby mr.danny on Wed Apr 06, 2011 3:10 am

Still the recording itself sounds as if something got overloaded. It's distorted. What are you using and how are you setting up?
mr.danny
Knight
 
Posts: 1155
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 4:14 pm

Re: Raspy tone clip

Postby studiojb on Tue Apr 19, 2011 7:01 am

57 into Black Lion Modded Digi002. :shhh:
studiojb
Page
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 7:01 am
Location: NorCal


Return to Recording Gear, Mics, Software and Techniques

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests