Adding A Master Volume to my 18 Watt Clone

For those building and repairing amps on their own. Learna and share ideas.

Adding A Master Volume to my 18 Watt Clone

Postby jaster55 on Mon Jan 09, 2017 2:50 pm

I am adding a Master Volume to my GDS 18 Watt TMB Clone. I will be removing one of the TMB channel input jacks to make room for the Master Volume Pot. The existing setup has two 68k Resistors coming from pin 2 on V3,one going to each of the input jacks. I will be removing one. Do I need to change the value of now single resistor going to pin 2 on V3...
jaster55
Peasant
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 5:14 am

Re: Adding A Master Volume to my 18 Watt Clone

Postby housekustoms on Thu Jan 26, 2017 3:04 pm

Nope. That 68K is pretty normal. That resistor between the input jack and the tube acts is a grid stopper. When combined with the input capacitance of the tube's grid, it creates a low pass filter to keep RF out. Normally one per input jack. So you will now only need the one.
I'm a little bit :old: now, but I still like to :jam:

Image
housekustoms
Page
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2011 12:43 am
Location: Tennessee


Return to Do It Yourself Amp Builders

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests