Concord Amp

20 Studio, 50+, 50PA, 50R, L100, B100, L120, L120PA, L120R, 120 SLAVE, B120, B150, L150, L200, B200, Concord, and SMF

Concord Amp

Postby TubeGetter on Sat Jun 16, 2001 12:29 am

What tubes and wattage does the Sound City Concord have?
TubeGetter
Emperor
 
Posts: 7917
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2001 7:01 am
Location: CA

Re: Concord Amp

Postby Highwaystar on Sat Jun 16, 2001 2:58 am

Well some say that they are 80 watters. they use two EL34's . It is a very loud amp like the 50+, so I call it a 50 watt amp.<P>It is lonely here!<BR>Wheres Billy?
Nate / #7
Highwaystar
King
 
Posts: 5003
Joined: Mon May 28, 2001 7:01 am
Location: Visiting John Crapper

Re: Concord Amp

Postby TubeGetter on Sat Jun 16, 2001 4:43 am

I don't know!!
TubeGetter
Emperor
 
Posts: 7917
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2001 7:01 am
Location: CA

Re: Concord Amp

Postby Highwaystar on Sun Jun 17, 2001 5:21 am

Has anyone seen a place where you can get the gold trim? <BR>I need a small plastic logo.
Nate / #7
Highwaystar
King
 
Posts: 5003
Joined: Mon May 28, 2001 7:01 am
Location: Visiting John Crapper

Re: Concord Amp

Postby Highwaystar on Sun Jun 17, 2001 5:25 pm

24Bit,<BR> I forgot to give the tubes.<BR> All the ones I've seen have had reverb. so they are (5) ECC83's and (2)EL34's<P>Alot of people don't like the combos reverb. So they modify the circuit and out the reverb tank goes.<P> :eek:
Nate / #7
Highwaystar
King
 
Posts: 5003
Joined: Mon May 28, 2001 7:01 am
Location: Visiting John Crapper

Re: Concord Amp

Postby peter horvath on Mon Jun 18, 2001 3:12 pm

the bass concord doesn't have reverb(of course), but it doesn't have that cool modulation meter, either. it's pretty damn loud for a 50 watter. maybe it's the closed back...<P>the later ones with knobs instead of sliders were concord gt-80's. did the wattage go up then? i've never looked inside one. they are ugly!
peter horvath
Baron
 
Posts: 2897
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2001 7:01 am
Location: highland park, nj

Re: Concord Amp

Postby Painterman on Tue Jun 19, 2001 11:14 pm

I'm not sure (because we've never a/b'd them) but I think MrHorvath's Concord is louder than mine. Mine's a regular one, where his is a Bass Concord. (so mine has the neat meter and the Reverb). <P>There's 2 of those GT80 combos (the ones with knobs) on gbase.com - but IMO they're very ugly. There's something cool about having an amp that not only has sliders, but they go UP TO 12!!! :eek:
Image
Sir Bobby Painterman - Knight of the Plexi Palace. (It only took me 8.5 years...)
Painterman
Knight
 
Posts: 1092
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2001 7:01 am
Location: New Brunswick, NJ USA

Re: Concord Amp

Postby BobbyS on Wed Jun 20, 2001 6:54 am

The reverb in my Concord is a bit overwhelming, but in small doses it's quite usable.
BobbyS
Court Jester
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2001 7:01 am
Location: Columbus Ohio

Re: Concord Amp

Postby Highwaystar on Wed Jun 20, 2001 1:54 pm

I heard that you can change the tube to alter the effect is this true?(ax7 to a ay7)
Nate / #7
Highwaystar
King
 
Posts: 5003
Joined: Mon May 28, 2001 7:01 am
Location: Visiting John Crapper

Re: Concord Amp

Postby Painterman on Fri Jul 06, 2001 5:17 pm

Never tried it, Nate. <P>I thought I'd re-post the "nice pair" of Concords. <BR>Mine is on top, and MrHorvath's is on the bottom. <BR> :D
Image
Sir Bobby Painterman - Knight of the Plexi Palace. (It only took me 8.5 years...)
Painterman
Knight
 
Posts: 1092
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2001 7:01 am
Location: New Brunswick, NJ USA

Re: Concord Amp

Postby peter horvath on Fri Jul 06, 2001 6:56 pm

sticker on back door of van courtesy of nate. :D
peter horvath
Baron
 
Posts: 2897
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2001 7:01 am
Location: highland park, nj

Re: Concord Amp

Postby Highwaystar on Fri Jul 06, 2001 11:22 pm

I have been slacking so bad. I need to get more of those run off.<P>Bobby, I have in my possesion that famous Concord with no reverb. I'm putting back the reverb.<P>The lower looks like chromagna Concord. :D me so sardy
Nate / #7
Highwaystar
King
 
Posts: 5003
Joined: Mon May 28, 2001 7:01 am
Location: Visiting John Crapper

Re: Concord Amp

Postby Painterman on Sun Jul 08, 2001 12:30 am

Nate - I'm glad you have that Concord. <P>Did that one have Fanes in it?<P> :cool:
Image
Sir Bobby Painterman - Knight of the Plexi Palace. (It only took me 8.5 years...)
Painterman
Knight
 
Posts: 1092
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2001 7:01 am
Location: New Brunswick, NJ USA

Re: Concord Amp

Postby Highwaystar on Sun Jul 08, 2001 12:48 am

Yes It does.<BR> When I picked it up I was at the rear of the shop(shipping area)there were 6 Fane speakers. So I had those set aside.<BR>Two of the are the Hiwatt Fanes(chrome mag)<BR>I now will have four for the 4X12 and a set for the Combo.<P>Ask MrHorvath for the family picture. :D <P>thise blondes look so cool :cool:
Nate / #7
Highwaystar
King
 
Posts: 5003
Joined: Mon May 28, 2001 7:01 am
Location: Visiting John Crapper

Re: Concord Amp

Postby peter horvath on Sun Jul 08, 2001 12:59 am

i will forward that to bobby...
peter horvath
Baron
 
Posts: 2897
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2001 7:01 am
Location: highland park, nj

Next

Return to Sound City

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests