Covering_________________.....Hendrix!

The greatest names in guitar, the sounds that we all want and have chased for years. This is the central location for decoding the elusive signature sounds.

Covering_________________.....Hendrix!

Postby ValveLust on Wed Jul 28, 2010 4:12 pm

I'm a guitarist and plan to cover several Hendrix tunes in a new band.

Manic Depression
Voodoo Chile
Red House
Little Wing
maybe more....

I know a univibe and fuzzface was common, how about for echo/reverb or?

Could someone give me the down and dirty on which effects Hendrix used and better yet by song if anyone has the knowledge?

:jam:
ValveLust
Squire

Re: Covering_________________.....Hendrix!

Postby Johnny C. on Fri Jul 30, 2010 10:22 pm

ValveLust wrote:I'm a guitarist and plan to cover several Hendrix tunes in a new band.

Manic Depression - fuzz (plus wah on Live at Winterland for instance).
Voodoo Chile - fuzz, wah, panning, tape echo
Red House - fuzz, tape echo
Little Wing - is that a Leslie on there?
maybe more....

I know a univibe and fuzzface was common, how about for echo/reverb or?

Could someone give me the down and dirty on which effects Hendrix used and better yet by song if anyone has the knowledge?

:jam:
It is only noise that we secretly want - Morton Feldman
Johnny C.
Modern/Experimental probation

Postby Johnny C. on Fri Jul 30, 2010 10:30 pm

For echo, go for an EP-3 if you have one or an analog delay perhaps. I run my delay post-mic into another (combo) amp so as not to screw with the harmonic distortion between the guitar, fuzz and amp - but that's me. If you have two amps you could try a pan pedal to get that swooshing left to right thing on Voodoo Child.
It is only noise that we secretly want - Morton Feldman
Johnny C.
Modern/Experimental probation

Postby Friedmett on Tue Aug 03, 2010 5:24 pm

Sounds:

Jimi's effects and amps were modified so no stock fuzz, univibe, octavio or wah would get the same as Jimi had.