fill & re-drill bridge bushing?

One of the most valuable places you can go to make your guitar right. Don't guess, ask an expert and trade tips. professional guitar techs and service's people are welcome. If your into guitar repair or just into working on your guitars, this is the place to stop in and share your knowledge or ask for help.

fill & re-drill bridge bushing?

Postby aaron. on Sat Jan 02, 2010 10:33 pm

I have a Gibson SG jr. made around the year 2000. Although it has a stoptail bridge, the studs are angled the same as a tune-o-matic. I've had to adjust the high e side as far back as it will go for intonation, which has not only warped the bridge over the last 7 years of playing, but recently snapped the head off a TonePros locking stud.

I want to move the bridge stud for the high e side to where the bridge properly intonates without absurd adjustment. I've never done this before.

I found this Instructable explaining how to remove the old bushing, but my guitar still has finish and I don't want to rip chunks of it out. Any tips?
Since I don't own a drill press, any solutions for drilling a perfect new hole for the bushing?
Will I need to glue the new bushing; anything I need to know when putting it in?
How much should I expect to pay a luthier to do this?
(In your opinion) Any benefit to choosing a particular wood to fill the old hole?

Thanks.
aaron.
Court Jester

Re: fill & re-drill bridge bushing?

Postby 57lpjr on Mon Jan 04, 2010 12:13 am

That definitely is a job for a professional based on what you have posted.
I have more gear than I need...but not as much gear as I want...

"Roll over Woodstock - we won!" & "Music is life, and life is not a business." (Iggy Pop 3/15/10)

"but lately one or two has fully paid their due for working for the clampdown...HAH, Gitalong, Gitalong"

"I believe, believe, believe, that there's better days ahead. I believe, believe, believe, that there's a heaven before I'm dead."