Hello, newbie here

For those building and repairing amps on their own. Learna and share ideas.

Hello, newbie here

Postby dragonworks on Sun Jun 14, 2015 2:02 pm

Just joined the board. Have played for 50 years, trying to learn to repair amps, having fun, haven't got electrocuted yet.
Have had some success. I will have many questions I am sure, but for now, if this link has not been posted before, let me do so here.
http://www.tubebooks.org/technical_books_online.htm
Stumbled across this in my quest for knowledge and found it to be quite helpful.
If you don't hear from me again I have probably electrocuted my self in the basement, better than dying on the shop floor at work.
dragonworks
Peasant

Re: Hello, newbie here

Postby Baron Von Machinenmann on Sun Jun 14, 2015 2:51 pm

Welcome aboard. :cheers:

The best advice that I can pass on to you was given to me almost forty years ago by one of my first electronics mentors, live by this rule and you will survive.

"One hand in pocket while probing"

An isolation transformer would be my own personal piece of wisdom, worth every penny. :wink:
ImageImageImage

John Lennon/Jimi Hendrix/Jimmy Page Fan
Baron Von Machinenmann
Administrator of Mirth

Postby dragonworks on Sun Jun 14, 2015 4:04 pm

Thanx for the heads up. I do probe with one hand in the pocket, and I do believe I have an isolation transformer now that you mention it. I bought a bunch of stuff from an estate sale and I think there is one in there with all the other stuff? I brought it all home, put most of it away and basically haven't given it much thought since then and it has been awhile. I will have to dig through it. I bought two large roll around cabinets full of equipment and some other stuff for a hundred dollars. The gent had worked for Westinghouse all his life. There were meggers, scopes, many multimeters, components, etc.
dragonworks
Peasant

Postby PeterS on Sun Jun 14, 2015 9:07 pm

meggers, scopes, many multimeters, components, etc.