x

For those building and repairing amps on their own. Learna and share ideas.

x

Postby andymanicy on Sun Sep 14, 2014 3:48 pm

x
Last edited by andymanicy on Mon Sep 18, 2017 1:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
andymanicy
Peasant
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 2:18 pm
Location: South West London

Re: Pre-PI Channel Switching conundrum...

Postby Papa Dog on Sun Sep 14, 2014 11:08 pm

the following schematic shows exactly how to implement what you have described.
Image
SMF schematic
There Ain't No Such Thing As A Free Lunch.

"The time has come," the Walrus said,
"To talk of many things:
Of shoes--and ships--and sealing-wax--
Of cabbages--and kings--"
Papa Dog
Knight
 
Posts: 1337
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 6:48 pm
Location: Narly Ampwerks

x

Postby andymanicy on Mon Sep 15, 2014 7:47 am

x
Last edited by andymanicy on Mon Sep 18, 2017 1:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
andymanicy
Peasant
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 2:18 pm
Location: South West London

Re: Pre-PI Channel Switching conundrum...

Postby Papa Dog on Mon Sep 15, 2014 6:29 pm

pro:
simple implementation
low parts count
easy to trouble shoot
effective
it works and works well
no relays or need for more power
con:
none that I know of.
There Ain't No Such Thing As A Free Lunch.

"The time has come," the Walrus said,
"To talk of many things:
Of shoes--and ships--and sealing-wax--
Of cabbages--and kings--"
Papa Dog
Knight
 
Posts: 1337
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 6:48 pm
Location: Narly Ampwerks

x

Postby andymanicy on Mon Sep 15, 2014 7:21 pm

x
Last edited by andymanicy on Mon Sep 18, 2017 1:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
andymanicy
Peasant
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 2:18 pm
Location: South West London

Re: Pre-PI Channel Switching conundrum...

Postby Papa Dog on Mon Sep 15, 2014 10:53 pm

use a TRS sheilded cable...or UTP...I have never heard a pop when switching, but my ears aint what they used to be.
sometimes the simplest ideas get overlooked because they look to be "to simple".
AND...if it were anything other than a ground I would agree...it really amounts to shorting to ground, and if you look at the caps it should be no problem.
easy enough to set up or remove if not to your liking...
I have a schemo somewhere for a relay actuated circuit similar to that one and will try to find it.
that one only runs a small voltage out to ground to make the relay work, but requires a relay power source, is more complex and tricky to set up.
There Ain't No Such Thing As A Free Lunch.

"The time has come," the Walrus said,
"To talk of many things:
Of shoes--and ships--and sealing-wax--
Of cabbages--and kings--"
Papa Dog
Knight
 
Posts: 1337
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 6:48 pm
Location: Narly Ampwerks


Return to Do It Yourself Amp Builders

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest