New Amp Builder question

For those building and repairing amps on their own. Learna and share ideas.

New Amp Builder question

Postby black_dog on Mon Jan 06, 2014 6:43 pm

Hi,

I'm new to amp building and have started by modifying an AC15HW - replacing caps, OT and choke, along with some resistors. I'm looking for some tips about soldering and adding components. In particular, how sensitive are components like caps to heat from soldering or bad wiring?

For example: I had replaced components and the amp was sounding really sweet. I then decided to change the stock tube socket for V3 (preamp 12ax7) for a belkin type. In the process of wiring up the new socket, I mistakenly soldered the heater wire to pin 8 instead of pin nine and fired up the amp. No sound of course, so I realized my mistake, moved the heater wire to pin nine. Now I have sound, but the sweet sound is gone! Or at least I think it is. Could one of the caps have been damaged by wiring the heater to pin 8. Is this even possible? Sorry but I am just learning about amps and have little understanding of how to trouble shoot.

I need a method (besides my ears) to conclusively test the amp before and after adding components.

Any advice would be most welcome.
Thanks very much.

-James
black_dog
Peasant

Re: New Amp Builder question

Postby Unit_1 on Wed Jan 08, 2014 4:44 am

pin 8 is the ground from that side of the triode - hooking 6.3vac up to it shouldn't have an effect on anything except maybe the tube - not really sure what that would do

try a different tube and see if it sounds better
OH, and welcome to the forum black_dog :cheers:
The ability to play/make music is a gift that not everyone gets. Those of us who have it should use it.