Step down transformer advice?

Topics other than amps, guitars, and tone. No posts about politics or religion.

Step down transformer advice?

Postby Seby on Wed Jun 03, 2015 3:13 am

Hi All,

I am in Sydney Australia, and am about to be the proud owner of a Vintage 47 Ric amp. (Woo! Full review and YT upload soon.)

To run this little guy here, I need to get a step down tranny. I know the power rating that I need (500w), but I have no experience with SDTs at all. So, I was hoping that some of you might have some advice insofar as the reliability of different brands/makes is concerned. There are a lot of options out there on the web, and I've no idea of the actual quality difference, if any, between them.

Greatly indebted! :not_worthy:

S.

p.s. This looks good, no? http://www.tortech.com.au/step-down-tra ... ransformer
Seby
Certified

Re: Step down transformer advice?

Postby Baron Von Machinenmann on Wed Jun 03, 2015 11:22 pm

Do you have a link to a schematic of your amp? 500 watts is a lot of overkill if the tube compliment is what I think it might be... :wink:
ImageImageImage

John Lennon/Jimi Hendrix/Jimmy Page Fan
Baron Von Machinenmann
Administrator of Mirth

Postby Seby on Wed Jun 03, 2015 11:39 pm

Thanks Mr B!

No I don't, but here's an email I got from David at V47 (who is, for the record, a super guy):

"These small wattage amps can get by on a 300 watt converter but with very little cushion to allow for large spikes on the initial start up surge. I suggest the 500 watt units for trouble free and long life. Better safe than sorry as they say!"

Straight from the horse's mouth as they say.
Seby
Certified

Postby Strat59 on Thu Jun 04, 2015 8:57 pm

That's the exact one I've had for 15yrs and still going 100%. I use it with all my '50s Tweeds (Tremolux, Vibrolux, Super, Princeton) and my mid '60s
BFDR, BFSR and BFPR.