Harman Kardon Prelude 6V6 Schematic

Gibson, Valco, Gretsch, and more

Harman Kardon Prelude 6V6 Schematic

Postby Old Ampeg Guy on Tue Jun 15, 2010 4:21 pm

Hi All,

New guy here, and although I'm an old guy, I'm just starting out in getting serious with amp maintenance. I know to drain the filter caps, and I want to be able to do recap jobs on my aging amps. My search for a good multimeter has begun, FWIW.

I have a 1957 Harman Kardon PC200 "Prelude" mono hi fi amp. It's been in use in my family since it was acquired as a new unit, first as a hi fi component and then as a guitar amp. It works well, and here's a pic of it in its "native habitat" as I used it this morning (driving a VT 4-12 cab with a Boss FRV-1 reverb pedal in front of it):

The tone has degraded a bit and I think it could stand a recap (and possibly a re-tube). I found a schematic for the PC200 on the Harman site, but it's for a version powered by EL84 tubes. Does anyone know where I might get a schematic online for the 6V6 version?

Alternatively, would the EL84 schematic be sufficiently similar to the one for my version that it would be helpful?

Thank you!

Old Ampeg Guy
Tomorrow, and tomorrow, and tomorrow . . .
Old Ampeg Guy
Peasant

Re: Harman Kardon Prelude 6V6 Schematic

Postby crowdaddy on Wed Jun 16, 2010 2:12 am