Peavey Deuce VT 212 Tubes overheating/redplating

Gibson, Valco, Gretsch, and more

Peavey Deuce VT 212 Tubes overheating/redplating

Postby Fireproof13 on Sat Feb 13, 2016 1:26 am

I'm relatively new to diy amp work, but I'm fairly knowledgeable with electronics. This amp started doing this a couple of years ago and I just left it alone for awhile, I've decided to get it working again. With all 4 tubes, the 3 and 4 tubes redplate after about 20-30 seconds. I tried just 2 tubes, and if there was a tube in 3 or 4 it would redplate. With tubes in just 1 and 2 it would go for about 2 minutes before the tubes start getting way too hot, not redplating, but you can feel the heat coming off of them about 2 feet away. I tried deoxit on all the pins and sockets and it didn't help. Just wondering if someone has any experience with these amps or any ideas of where to start.

I'm numbering the tubes from right to left if you're looking at the back of the amp, not sure if it's right but that's how i'm explaining it.
Fireproof13
Peasant

Re: Peavey Deuce VT 212 Tubes overheating/redplating

Postby stratele52 on Sun Feb 14, 2016 3:19 pm

Tubes are short or bias is tooooo hot.

Check bias and adjust. If tubes are short , replace them , check bias
stratele52
Knight

Postby Fireproof13 on Mon Feb 15, 2016 2:51 pm

It must be a bias issue, I've tried 8 different tubes, 2 of which were brand new Ruby's. And all of the tubes work in another of my amps. Does anyone know any specifics to biasing these amps, or is it pretty much standard.
Fireproof13
Peasant

Postby stratele52 on Mon Feb 15, 2016 3:34 pm

Fireproof13 wrote:It must be a bias issue, I've tried 8 different tubes, 2 of which were brand new Ruby's. And all of the tubes work in another of my amps. Does anyone know any specifics to biasing these amps, or is it pretty much standard.

Bias is always "standard" for AB class amp or A class amp. Bias is for tubes not for amps.